FJ Dynamics Trion S2 Portable 3D LiDAR Scanner
W-9 and vendor pack with every quote
Shipped direct from the manufacturer
Standard, PRO and MAX share one body and diverge on point cloud speed and scanning range. This listing's figures track Standard and PRO, not MAX.
01
Three tiers share the S2 name, and only a phone call confirms which one this listing ships
FJ Dynamics builds the Trion S2 in three tiers: Standard, PRO and MAX. Standard scans 320,000 points per second on 16 channels and reaches 120 meters at 80% target reflectivity, the laser returns that build a point cloud, FJ Dynamics' 3D dot map. PRO doubles that to 640,000 points per second and 32 channels, at the same reflectivity-conditioned range. MAX keeps PRO's speed and channel count and stretches range to 300 meters, same condition. All three share a 360 by 270 degree field of view and a Class 1, 905 nanometer laser, eye safe by FJ Dynamics' rating. This listing's figures track Standard and PRO, not MAX. Call +1 888 850 6533, Monday to Friday, 9 to 5 Mountain Time, to confirm your tier before you order.
Scan the toughest without compromise
FJ Dynamics' own introduction to the S2 Series, from the official FJDynamics YouTube channel.
02
Three FJ Dynamics documents give three different accuracy figures, and we are not picking a winner
The product page and brochure agree: relative accuracy within 1 centimeter, absolute accuracy of 3 centimeters, both measured in an experimental environment, per the brochure's footnote. Relative accuracy is how close scanned points sit to each other; absolute accuracy is how close the whole scan sits to true position. FJ Dynamics' own User Manual instead states a single combined figure: 2 to 20 millimeters, with no relative or absolute split. One dealer lists relative accuracy as 1.2 centimeters, matching a marketing figure on the product page that contradicts its own spec table. We are naming this contradiction, not resolving it.
03
The brochure and the manual disagree on both weight and size, by more than rounding
FJ Dynamics' product page and brochure put the S2 at 1.8 kilograms, excluding the battery, external camera and GNSS/RTK module. The User Manual instead lists 1.85 kilograms, excluding the battery, base plate and bracket, a different exclusion set. The brochure states dimensions 107 by 118 by 398 millimeters including base and battery; the manual states 109 by 185 by 590 millimeters with no stated inclusions. That gap is too large to be rounding; the two documents may describe different configurations. FJ Dynamics also lists mounts for the S2: a stabilizing vest, an extension pole, and mounts for a car, drone, robot dog, backpack or suitcase.
04
RTK, PPK and five satellite constellations put every scan on the map, not just in space
The S2 reads five satellite constellations, BDS, GPS, GLONASS, Galileo and QZSS, with IRNSS and SBAS planned for a future firmware upgrade. RTK, live correction broadcast from a base station while you scan, lifts horizontal accuracy to 8 millimeters plus 1 part per million RMS. Vertical accuracy reaches 15 millimeters plus 1 part per million RMS under the same correction. PPK applies the same correction afterward instead of live, for sites without a live radio link, and PPS keeps scanner and receiver synchronized. Point clouds export as .las, .ply, .pts or .e57, formats most survey software reads. RTK and PPK place the scan on the map; they do not change how tightly the points sit to each other.
05
Two cameras and a positioning engine turn the scan into something you can walk through the same day
The S2 carries two 12 megapixel fisheye cameras with a 200 degree field of view, feeding a live colorized preview as you walk. SLAM, positioning built from the scan itself instead of GPS, runs through those two cameras. The FJD Trion Scan app runs capture in sessions up to 1 hour, resuming after a break. Firmware V1.4.2, released 30 June 2026, added a Golf Mode for golf course scanning, with movement speed alerts and a recommended speed limit. FJD Trion Model, the desktop and iPadOS software, handles registration, mapping, mesh modeling, Gaussian splatting and reports. FJD Trion Model Web syncs review across a team on more than one device, and both support over 8,000 coordinate systems.
06
The battery figure and the operating temperature both change depending on which FJ Dynamics document you read
The product page and brochure rate battery life at 3 hours, with one set of 2 batteries. The User Manual instead states 1.5 hours, with no condition attached. FJ Dynamics gives two operating temperature ranges: the product page and manual say negative 20 to 50 degrees Celsius, the brochure says negative 10 to 50. Two documents outweigh one, but neither has been withdrawn. An IP54 rating appears only in the brochure's Quick Specs table; the product page's own table carries no IP rating row. FJ Dynamics' manual warns: do not look directly at the running LiDAR. Do not use a microscope or magnifying device to view the beam either, even though the laser meets Class 1 safety standards.
07 FOR UNIVERSITIES, COLLEGES AND GOVERNMENT AGENCIES
Universities, colleges and government agencies order this on a purchase order, shipped direct from FJ Dynamics
My Surveying Direct accepts purchase orders from universities, colleges and government agencies for the S2. Every unit ships direct from FJ Dynamics. FJ Dynamics does not publish an itemized packing list for the S2, not on its product page, support center or manual. The only itemized list we found came from a single dealer we could not cross check, so we are not printing it here. Call +1 888 850 6533, Monday to Friday, 9 to 5 Mountain Time. We will confirm what ships with your order, which tier you are buying, and which accuracy figure applies to your tolerance, before your purchase order goes in.
Checkout above. Financing available with Affirm.
Institutions only: universities, colleges and government agencies.
Attached automatically.
Send the certificate once, we hold it on file.
On request, for committee approval.
One person, from quote to delivery.
REFERENCE
Specifications
LiDAR
| Range, Standard and PRO | 120 m @ 80% reflectivity; 80 m @ 10% reflectivity |
| Range, MAX | 300 m @ 80% reflectivity; 80 m @ 10% reflectivity |
| Channels, Standard | 16 |
| Channels, PRO and MAX | 32 |
| Speed, Standard | 320,000 pts/s |
| Speed, PRO and MAX | 640,000 pts/s |
| Field of view, all variants | 360° × 270° |
| Safety level, all variants | Class 1 / 905 nm, eye safe |
System parameters
| Relative accuracy (product page and brochure) | ≤ 1 cm, measured in an experimental environment per the brochure's own footnote |
| Absolute accuracy (product page and brochure) | 3 cm |
| Accuracy (User Manual Quick Specifications table) | 2 mm to 20 mm, a single combined figure with no relative/absolute split; conflicts with the ≤1 cm / 3 cm figures above |
| Weight (product page and brochure) | 1.8 kg, excluding battery, external camera and GNSS/RTK module |
| Weight (User Manual Quick Specifications table) | 1.85 kg, excluding battery, base plate and bracket; a different exclusion set to the 1.8 kg figure above |
| Dimensions (brochure) | 107 × 118 × 398 mm, including base and battery |
| Dimensions (User Manual Quick Specifications table) | 109 × 185 × 590 mm, inclusions/exclusions not stated; conflicts materially with the brochure figure |
| Battery life (product page and brochure) | 3 h, with 1 set of 2 batteries |
| Battery life (User Manual Quick Specifications table) | 1.5 h, condition not stated; may be a single-battery figure but the manual does not say so |
| Storage | 512 GB, 1 TB expandable |
| Operating temperature (product page and User Manual) | -20℃ to 50℃ |
| Operating temperature (official brochure) | -10℃ to 50℃; disagrees with the product page and manual figure above |
| Power consumption | 25 W |
| Power supply | 10.8 V, 3 A |
| Charging port | Type-C |
| Data export (product page) | Wi-Fi, USB Type-C, USB Flash Disk |
| Data export (official brochure) | Wi-Fi, USB Type-C, USB Type-A; different wording to the product page row above for what may be the same port |
| Point cloud format | .las / .ply / .pts / .e57 |
| IP rating | IP54, stated in the official brochure's Quick Specs table only; the product page's own on-page System Parameters table does not carry an IP rating row |
Camera
| Resolution | 2 × 12 MP, dual fisheye cameras |
| Field of view | 200° |
| Visual SLAM | Supported |
| Image export | Supported |
| Image format | .jpg |
GNSS
| Satellite constellations | BDS: B1I/B2I/B3I/B1C/B2a/B2b; GPS: L1 C/A/L1C/L2P(Y)/L2C/L5; GLONASS: G1/G2/G3; Galileo: E1/E5a/E5b/E6; QZSS: L1C/A/L1C/L2C/L5 (IRNSS and SBAS support planned via a future firmware upgrade) |
| RTK/GNSS accuracy | Horizontal: 8 mm + 1 ppm RMS; Vertical: 15 mm + 1 ppm RMS |
| PPK | Supported |
| PPS | Supported |
Safety and handling
| Laser safety standards | IEC 60825-1:2014; 21 CFR 1040.10 and 1040.11, except for deviations under Laser Notice No. 56, dated 8 May 2019 |
| Magnification warning | Even though the device meets Class 1 safety standards, do not use a microscope, magnifying glass or any other magnifying device to look directly at the laser |
| Direct viewing | For maximum self-protection, do not look directly at the running LiDAR |
| Scanning obstruction | Do not block or interrupt the LiDAR while it is rotating |
| Cable handling | Do not repeatedly plug and unplug the connecting cables; do not forcibly bend or pull them, and do not insert unrelated objects into the connectors |
| Ambient temperature | Use at normal ambient temperatures; extreme temperatures can shorten battery life or create unpredictable risks |
| Battery storage | Do not immerse batteries in water; store in a cool, dry place when not in use; keep away from heat sources such as fire or heaters |
| Charger requirement | Use only the original charger during charging; third-party chargers are strictly prohibited |
| Battery terminals | Do not reverse the battery's positive and negative terminals; never insert the battery directly into a power outlet; prohibit metal objects from touching both terminals |
| Battery casing | Do not disassemble the battery casing, weld it, or puncture it with sharp objects |
| Unused-battery maintenance | Recharge the battery every 3 months if unused, to prevent deep discharge |
| Charging and discharge temperature | Charging temperature 0℃ to 45℃; discharge temperature -20℃ to 50℃ (50℃ applies only when the battery is integrated with the device, not standalone) |
| Type-C port during use | Avoid unplugging or reconnecting the battery's Type-C port while the device is in use |
| RF exposure distance | Maximum Permissible Exposure (MPE) is calculated at a distance of 20 cm between the device and the human body; maintain that 20 cm distance to stay within RF exposure limits |
| Radio bands and power | Bluetooth: 2402–2480 MHz, max EIRP 9.94 dBm; WLAN 2.4G: 2412–2472 MHz, max EIRP 19.93 dBm |
| FCC classification | Class A digital device under FCC Part 15; not designed for residential environments and may cause harmful interference there, correctable at the user's own expense |
Software ecosystem
| Field capture app | FJD Trion Scan: real-time colorized point cloud preview, coverage checks, scan sessions of up to 1 hour with resume-from-breakpoint |
| Desktop/tablet processing | FJD Trion Model, for PC and iPadOS: point cloud registration, 2D mapping, 3D mesh modeling, Gaussian splatting, cross-section analysis, report generation |
| Cloud collaboration | FJD Trion Model Web: online review and data-change sync for teams working from more than one device |
| Coordinate systems | Supports over 8,000 coordinate systems |
| Golf Mode (firmware V1.4.2, released 30 June 2026) | Added a dedicated Golf Mode for golf course scanning projects, plus real-time movement-speed display with recommended speed limits and overspeed alerts (toast, voice and vibration) |
Deployment accessories
| Mounting and carrying options described by the manufacturer | Stabilizing vest, extension pole, car mount, drone mount, robot dog mount, backpack, rolling suitcase |
Ordering
| Purchase orders | Accepted from universities, colleges and government agencies |
| Shipping | Shipped direct from the manufacturer |
| Speak to us | +1 888 850 6533, Monday to Friday, 9 to 5 Mountain Time |