Topcon RL-HV2S Single Grade Laser
W-9 and vendor pack with every quote
Shipped direct from the manufacturer
Topcon classifies the RL-HV2S a Multi-Purpose Construction Laser, doing horizontal, single slope, dual slope and vertical work in either the X or Y axis, and the price includes a laser receiver, the LS-80X or the LS-100D depending on which option you pick.
01
Topcon classifies this a multi-purpose laser that does dual slope and vertical work, not a single-slope-only unit
Topcon's own spec sheet calls this a Multi-Purpose Construction Laser, dual-slope capable, built for horizontal, single slope, dual slope or vertical layout in either axis. Topcon's own model catalog confirms the grade type as Dual, in a table that lists the true single-axis sibling model, the RL-HV1S, as Single. That sibling works X-axis slope only, with no vertical dual-axis mode; the two share a family name and a similar case. If your job needs dual-slope grading or a vertical layout on either axis, this is the model built for it. Self-leveling runs plus or minus 5 degrees on both planes, and rotation speed switches between 300 and 600 rpm.
02
The price bundles a laser receiver into the box, the LS-80X or the LS-100D depending on which option you buy
Two versions of this listing exist, and each bundles a matching laser receiver, the handheld sensor that reads how far above or below grade the beam sits. Pick the LS-80X option and you get the LS-80X receiver paired with alkaline dry-cell power. Pick the LS-100D option and you get the LS-100D receiver paired with a rechargeable battery pack instead. The LS-80X switches between normal precision, plus or minus 2.0 mm, and high precision, plus or minus 1.0 mm. It reads to about 800 m of working diameter on its own, and carries an IP66 dust and water rating. It shows grade on a dual display, front and back, and runs roughly 120 hours on two AA batteries. No independent Topcon specification document exists yet for the LS-100D receiver on its own, so its precision and range are not stated here.
03
The 800 meter range is real, but Topcon ties it to 600 rpm and the LS-80X receiver specifically
Topcon states a working range of approximately 2 to 800 m, about 6.5 to 2,600 feet, as a diameter. That figure is measured at 600 rpm and with the LS-80X receiver; a different speed or receiver is not guaranteed to hold it. The same brochure restates the identical circle elsewhere as a radius of over 400 m, about 1,300 feet. That is the same distance described the other way round, not a second, larger range. No Topcon document, and neither dealer page checked, states whether the LS-100D pairing reaches the same 800 m figure. Call and ask before you order if your site needs that guarantee.
04
Topcon's own manual and its own brochure state two different grade ranges, and neither is corrected here
Topcon's operator's manual, in its specifications chapter, states the grade setting range as plus or minus 15 percent on both the X and Y axis. No base-percentage qualifier appears anywhere in its text. Topcon's own brochure for this same model states a lower base range instead, up to plus or minus 5 percent. That range extends to plus or minus 15 percent only with a tilting plate accessory. Both documents are Topcon's own, and they disagree; we are printing both figures rather than picking the one that reads better. If your project's tolerance depends on which is correct, that is a question worth a call before you order, not after.
05
A free phone app replaces the remote, per two Topcon documents; a third calls a remote included
The free Laser Manager app, for iOS and Android, connects to the laser over Bluetooth to adjust slope and check calibration, at no license cost. Both this model's own brochure and the operator's manual's product outline describe that app as the control method. Neither says a special physical remote control is needed. Topcon's own printed catalog, a separate document, lists included remote control as a headline feature for this model line instead. We are not resolving that disagreement here; both are Topcon's own words. Bluetooth's usable range runs 100 m horizontal and 20 m vertical, under Topcon's own stated good conditions. Those conditions are instrument height above 1.2 m, no obstructing structures nearby, minimal radio interference, and no rain. Bluetooth may not be built in at all, depending on the telecommunications regulations where the instrument is purchased.
06
Battery choice changes runtime, charge time and weight; the warranty term stays five years either way
Run it on four D-size alkaline batteries and Topcon rates the laser for about 120 hours at 20 degrees C. Run it on the rechargeable BT-79Q pack instead and that drops to about 65 hours, with a charge time of roughly 13 hours through the AD-15E converter. Weight shifts with the battery too: about 2.6 kg, 5.7 lb, with dry batteries fitted, about 2.8 kg, 6.2 lb, with the BT-79Q pack fitted instead. The instrument is IP66 rated for dust and water, and runs from minus 20 to 50 degrees C. It is a Class 1 laser, 635 nm visible red, 2.4 mW. Never point the beam at another person: it is injurious to the eyes and skin, and an eye injury needs immediate attention from a licensed ophthalmologist. Topcon backs the instrument with a five-year warranty, whichever battery or receiver option you choose.
07 FOR UNIVERSITIES, COLLEGES AND GOVERNMENT AGENCIES
Two SKUs ship direct from Topcon; call before you order and we confirm what is in the box
This listing covers two SKUs, the w/LS-80X package and the w/LS-100D package, and every unit ships direct from Topcon. My Surveying Direct is an authorized reseller. Confirmed across more than one independent source: the laser unit, the receiver matching the option you buy, and a carrying case. Not confirmed: batteries. Topcon's own manufacturer page states that its products generally ship without alkaline batteries, for shipping reasons, and tells buyers to source the correct type locally. This model's own brochure, though, lists batteries among the kit's components, and neither of the two dealers we checked names batteries as included either. Those same two dealers disagree with each other on a separate point: whether a printed manual ships in the box. We are not printing a packing list we cannot stand behind. Call +1 888 850 6533, Monday to Friday, 9 to 5 Mountain Time, and we will confirm exactly what ships in your box, batteries included, before you buy.
Checkout above. Financing available with Affirm.
Institutions only: universities, colleges and government agencies.
Attached automatically.
Send the certificate once, we hold it on file.
On request, for committee approval.
One person, from quote to delivery.
REFERENCE
Specifications
Applications and slope capability
| Intended applications | Horizontal, single slope, dual slope, or vertical layout, in either the X or Y axis |
| Topcon's own classification | Multi-Purpose Construction Laser, dual-slope capable |
| Grade type, per Topcon's own model catalog | Dual, confirmed in a per-model table alongside the single-axis sibling model's Single rating |
Grade and slope range
| Grade setting range | X axis up to ±15 percent, Y axis up to ±15 percent (dual-grade capability specific to this model), per Topcon's own operator's manual, stated with no base-percentage or tilting-plate qualifier. Topcon's own RL-HV2S brochure states a lower base range of up to ±5 percent, extended to ±15 percent only with a tilting plate accessory; the two Topcon-controlled documents are not reconciled here. |
| Self-leveling range | Horizontal ±5 degrees, vertical ±5 degrees |
| Accuracy | Horizontal ±10 arc seconds, vertical ±10 arc seconds |
| Rotation speed | 300, 600 rpm, changeable |
Range
| Working diameter, LS-80X receiver | Approximately 2 to 800 m (about 6.5 to 2,600 ft) or more, at 600 rpm rotation speed, using the LS-80X receiver |
| Working diameter, LS-100D receiver | Not separately stated by any Topcon or dealer source checked |
Laser and safety
| Light source and classification | Visible red laser diode, 635 nm, Class 1, laser output 2.4 mW, per IEC 60825-1 Ed. 3.0:2014 and FDA CDRH 21 CFR Part 1040.10 and 1040.11 |
| Eye safety warning | Never intentionally point the laser beam at another person. The laser beam is injurious to the eyes and skin. If an eye injury is caused by exposure to the laser beam, seek immediate medical attention from a licensed ophthalmologist |
| General hazard warnings | Do not disassemble or rebuild the instrument; fire, electric shock, burns, or hazardous radiation exposure could result. Do not use in areas with high amounts of dust or ash, inadequate ventilation, or near combustible materials; an explosion could occur. When securing the instrument in its carrying case, close all catches, including the side catches, before carrying it |
| Bluetooth-specific cautions | Keep the instrument at least 22 cm from anyone with a cardiac pacemaker. Do not use onboard aircraft. Do not use in the vicinity of hospitals |
Connectivity and control
| Control method | Laser Manager, a free smartphone app for iOS and Android, connects over Bluetooth to adjust slope and check calibration. Both Topcon's own RL-HV2S brochure and the operator's manual's own product outline state no special physical remote control is needed. Topcon's own printed catalog separately lists 'included remote control' as a headline feature for this model line; the two Topcon-controlled sources are not reconciled here. |
| Bluetooth usable range | Horizontal 100 m (about 328 ft), vertical 20 m (about 66 ft), under Topcon's own stated good-communication conditions: instrument height above 1.2 m, no obstructing structures or vehicles nearby, minimal nearby radio interference, no rain |
| Bluetooth availability by region | Topcon's own manual states that Bluetooth may not be built in depending on the telecommunications regulations of the country or area where the instrument is purchased |
Power and battery
| Power source options | Four D-size dry batteries (alkaline), or a Ni-MH rechargeable battery pack, model BT-79Q, 7,000 mAh |
| Operating duration at 20 degrees C | 120 hours on dry alkaline batteries, 65 hours on the BT-79Q rechargeable pack |
| BT-79Q charging time at 20 degrees C | About 13 hours |
| Charger | AC/DC converter, model AD-15E, input 100 to 240 V AC at 50 to 60 Hz, output DC 9 V, 2.0 A maximum, 18 W |
Receiver options
| Two purchase options | With the LS-80X receiver, paired with the alkaline dry-battery power option, or with the LS-100D receiver, paired with the rechargeable BT-79Q battery pack |
| Receiver naming | Topcon's own RL-HV2S brochure names the bundled receiver LS-80L. Topcon's own operator's manual, the official parts list, and this listing's own part numbers all name it LS-80X. LS-80X is used throughout these specifications |
| LS-80X detection precision | Switchable between normal precision (plus or minus 2.0 mm) and high precision (plus or minus 1.0 mm) |
| LS-80X working diameter | 2 to 800 m (about 3 to 1,300 ft) |
| LS-80X build and power | IP66 rated, dual LCD display on front and back, powered by 2 AA dry-cell or alkaline batteries, approximately 120 hours battery life on alkaline |
| LS-100D receiver specification | Confirmed as a genuine Topcon accessory and a genuine bundle option for this laser. No independent Topcon specification document for the LS-100D was located, so its detection precision and working range are not stated here |
Environmental and build
| Dust and water resistance | IP66 (IEC 60529:2001) |
| Operating temperature | -20 to 50 degrees C (-4 to 122 degrees F) |
| Storage temperature | -30 to 60 degrees C (-22 to 140 degrees F) |
| Dimensions | 177 (L) x 196 (W) x 217 (H) mm, about 7.0 x 7.7 x 8.5 inches |
| Weight | About 2.6 kg (5.7 lb) with dry batteries installed, about 2.8 kg (6.2 lb) with the BT-79Q rechargeable pack installed |
| Tripod mount | 5/8 inch-11 thread, standard surveying-instrument fitting |
Warranty
| Instrument warranty | Five years |
What is included at this price
| Confirmed by more than one independent source | The laser unit itself, the receiver matching the option purchased (LS-80X or LS-100D), and a carrying case |
| Not confirmed as included: batteries | Topcon's own manufacturer page states that its products generally do not include alkaline batteries, due to interstate and international shipping constraints, and that the correct battery type and count should be purchased locally. Neither independent dealer's own listed contents names batteries as included, and Topcon's own brochure for this model lists batteries among the kit's components. Not resolved |
| Laser Manager app | Free download for iOS and Android, no license fee |
| Printed manual | One independent dealer's own listed contents names a printed user manual; a second independent dealer's own listed contents does not mention one |
Ordering
| Variants covered by this listing | Two options on the same listing: w/LS-80X (SKU 1051612-21) and w/LS-100D (SKU 1051612-22) |
| Shipping | Shipped direct from the manufacturer |
| Dealer status | Authorized reseller, per this listing |