Purchase orders accepted from universities, colleges and government agencies. Financing available with Affirm. Financing with Affirm. W-9 and vendor pack +1 888 850 6533
Dark Slate Gray Topcon RL-HV1S Single Grade Laser
Topcon

Topcon RL-HV1S Single Grade Laser

$2,290.00
Financing available · Affirm
In stock
Purchase orders accepted
W-9 and vendor pack with every quote
Shipped direct from the manufacturer

Topcon builds the RL-HV1S for single-slope layout, X axis only, and each of its two options bundles a matching laser receiver, the LS-80X or the LS-100D.

Jump to

01

Topcon classifies this a single-slope laser, X axis grade only, not the dual-slope model that shares its family name

Topcon's own brochure for this model describes single-slope layout in the X axis only, and never mentions horizontal, vertical, or dual-slope use. Topcon's own model catalog confirms the grade type as Single, in a table that also lists this model's sibling, the RL-HV2S, as Dual. That sibling does horizontal, single-slope, dual-slope and vertical work in either axis. This one does not. If your job needs a slope set in the X axis only, this is the model. If it needs two axes or a vertical layout, look at the RL-HV2S instead.

800 m
Working diameter, LS-80X receiver at 600 rpm
Topcon's own figure ties this range specifically to 600 rpm rotation speed and the LS-80X receiver. No source checked states whether the LS-100D-bundled variant reaches the same figure
Class 1
Laser safety classification
IEC 60825-1 Ed. 3.0:2014 and FDA CDRH 21 CFR 1040.10/1040.11
Five years
Manufacturer warranty on the laser
Topcon's own RL-HV1S brochure states this term for the instrument itself
±5 degrees
Self-leveling range, horizontal
This model self-levels and sets grade in the X axis only, per Topcon's own operator's manual and this model's own brochure

02

Topcon's own documents disagree with themselves on vertical use, and this page does not resolve it either way

Topcon's shared operator's manual covers this model and the dual-slope RL-HV2S in one specifications table, listing vertical self-leveling, vertical accuracy, and a vertical Bluetooth range there. It tags the RL-HV2S's own dual-axis grade row with a 2S-only note, but does not tag the vertical rows the same way. This model's own two-page brochure never mentions vertical operation, and Topcon's own catalog lists its grade capability as Single. Two Topcon documents read differently here, and neither is resolved. This page states only what Topcon's own materials for this model describe: single-slope layout in the X axis. If vertical layout matters to your job, call and ask before you order.

03

Two SKUs bundle different receivers, LS-80X on one, LS-100D on the other, and which one you get depends on which you order

This listing covers two options. Pick the w/LS-80X package for the LS-80X receiver, paired with alkaline power. The receiver is the handheld sensor that reads how far above or below grade the beam sits. Pick the w/LS-100D package instead for the LS-100D receiver, paired with a rechargeable pack. Topcon's own brochure describes compatibility with the LS-100 and LS-80 receiver series broadly, not one receiver as included. The specific pairing comes from Topcon's own parts list and this listing's two variants, not the brochure. The LS-80X switches between normal precision, plus or minus 2.0 mm, and high precision, plus or minus 1.0 mm. It reads to about 800 m of working diameter on its own. No Topcon document states the LS-100D's own precision or range.

04

The 800 meter range is real, but Topcon ties it to 600 rpm and the LS-80X receiver specifically

Topcon states a working range of approximately 2 to 800 m, about 6.5 to 2,600 feet, as a diameter, measured at 600 rpm and with the LS-80X receiver. A different speed or receiver is not guaranteed to hold it. The same brochure restates the identical circle elsewhere as a radius of over 400 m, about 1,300 feet. That is the same distance measured the other way, not a second, larger range. No Topcon document checked states whether the LS-100D pairing reaches the same 800 m figure. Call and ask before you order if your site needs that guarantee.

05

Topcon's own manual states plus or minus 15 percent for this model's X axis; its own brochure states a lower base figure instead

Topcon's operator's manual states the X axis grade setting range as plus or minus 15 percent, with no base-percentage qualifier. Topcon's own brochure and its own printed catalog state a lower base range instead. Up to plus or minus 5 percent, extending to plus or minus 15 percent only with a tilting plate. Both documents are Topcon's own, and they disagree. We print both rather than pick the one that reads better. If your tolerance depends on which is correct, that is worth a call before you order.

06

Battery choice changes runtime, charge time and weight, and the five-year warranty holds either way

Four D-size alkaline batteries run the laser about 120 hours at 20 degrees C. The rechargeable BT-79Q pack runs about 65 hours instead, with a roughly 13-hour charge. Weight shifts with the battery: 2.6 kg, 5.7 lb dry, 2.8 kg, 6.2 lb with the BT-79Q fitted. The instrument is IP66 rated, runs minus 20 to 50 degrees C, and is a Class 1 laser, 635 nanometer visible red. Never point the beam at another person: it is injurious to the eyes and skin, and an eye injury needs immediate medical attention from a licensed ophthalmologist. A free Laser Manager app, for iOS and Android, connects over Bluetooth to adjust slope and calibration. Topcon's brochure and manual say no special remote is needed; its printed catalog, though, lists included remote control as a headline feature. Topcon backs the instrument with a five-year warranty either way.

07 FOR UNIVERSITIES, COLLEGES AND GOVERNMENT AGENCIES

Two SKUs ship direct from Topcon, and we confirm battery and charger contents by phone before you order

This listing covers two SKUs, the w/LS-80X package and the w/LS-100D package, and every unit ships direct from Topcon. Confirmed across more than one source: the laser, the receiver matching the option you buy, and a carrying case. Not confirmed: batteries and a charger. This model's own brochure lists them as included, and one dealer agrees. Topcon's own manufacturer page, though, says its products generally ship without alkaline batteries, for shipping reasons, and tells buyers to source them locally. A second dealer names neither as included, and the two dealers disagree on whether a manual ships too. We are not printing a packing list we cannot stand behind. Call +1 888 850 6533, Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mountain Time, and we will confirm what ships in your box before you buy.

Card and financing

Checkout above. Financing available with Affirm.

Purchase orders

Institutions only: universities, colleges and government agencies.

W-9 on every quote

Attached automatically.

Tax exemption

Send the certificate once, we hold it on file.

Sole source letters

On request, for committee approval.

A named contact

One person, from quote to delivery.

REFERENCE

Specifications

Applications and slope capability
Intended applications Single-slope layout tasks in the X axis only. Topcon's own brochure for this model describes single-slope operation exclusively and does not mention horizontal, vertical, or dual-slope use anywhere in its two pages
Topcon's own classification Single-Slope Construction Laser
Grade type, per Topcon's own model catalog Single, confirmed in a per-model table alongside the dual-axis sibling model's Dual rating
Grade and slope range
Grade setting range X axis up to plus or minus 15 percent, per Topcon's own operator's manual, which states this figure for the X axis with no base-percentage or tilting-plate qualifier. Topcon's own brochure for this model and Topcon's own printed catalog both state a lower base range of up to plus or minus 5 percent, extended to plus or minus 15 percent only with a tilting plate accessory; the two Topcon-controlled readings are not reconciled here
Self-leveling range Horizontal ±5 degrees
Accuracy Horizontal plus or minus 10 arc seconds
Rotation speed 300, 600 rpm, changeable
Range
Working diameter, LS-80X receiver Approximately 2 to 800 m (about 6.5 to 2,600 ft) or more, at 600 rpm rotation speed, using the LS-80X receiver
Working diameter, LS-100D receiver Not separately stated by any Topcon or dealer source checked
Laser and safety
Light source and classification Visible red laser diode, 635 nm, Class 1, laser output 2.4 mW, per IEC 60825-1 Ed. 3.0:2014 and FDA CDRH 21 CFR Part 1040.10 and 1040.11
Eye safety warning Never intentionally point the laser beam at another person. The laser beam is injurious to the eyes and skin. If an eye injury is caused by exposure to the laser beam, seek immediate medical attention from a licensed ophthalmologist
General hazard warnings Do not disassemble or rebuild the instrument; fire, electric shock, burns, or hazardous radiation exposure could result. Do not use in areas with high amounts of dust or ash, inadequate ventilation, or near combustible materials; an explosion could occur. When securing the instrument in its carrying case, close all catches, including the side catches, before carrying it
Bluetooth-specific cautions Keep the instrument at least 22 cm from anyone with a cardiac pacemaker. Do not use onboard aircraft. Do not use in the vicinity of hospitals
Connectivity and control
Control method Laser Manager, a free smartphone app for iOS and Android, connects over Bluetooth to adjust slope and check calibration. Both Topcon's own brochure for this model and the operator's manual's own product outline state no special physical remote control is needed. Topcon's own printed catalog separately lists 'included remote control' as a headline feature for this model line; the two Topcon-controlled sources are not reconciled here
Bluetooth usable range Horizontal 100 m (about 328 ft), under Topcon's own stated good-communication conditions: instrument height above 1.2 m, no obstructing structures or vehicles nearby, minimal nearby radio interference, no rain
Bluetooth availability by region Topcon's own manual states that Bluetooth may not be built in depending on the telecommunications regulations of the country or area where the instrument is purchased
Power and battery
Power source options Four D-size dry batteries (alkaline), or a Ni-MH rechargeable battery pack, model BT-79Q, 7,000 mAh
Operating duration at 20 degrees C 120 hours on dry alkaline batteries, 65 hours on the BT-79Q rechargeable pack
BT-79Q charging time at 20 degrees C About 13 hours
Charger AC/DC converter, model AD-15E, input 100 to 240 V AC at 50 to 60 Hz, output DC 9 V, 2.0 A maximum, 18 W
Receiver options
Two purchase options With the LS-80X receiver, paired with the alkaline dry-battery power option, or with the LS-100D receiver, paired with the rechargeable BT-79Q battery pack
Receiver naming and inclusion Topcon's own brochure for this model describes compatibility with the LS-100 and LS-80 receiver series broadly, rather than naming one specific receiver as included. Topcon's own official parts list and this listing's own two variant titles each tie one specific receiver, the LS-80X or the LS-100D, to one of the two purchase options
LS-80X detection precision Switchable between normal precision (plus or minus 2.0 mm) and high precision (plus or minus 1.0 mm)
LS-80X working diameter 2 to 800 m (about 3 to 1,300 ft)
LS-80X build and power IP66 rated, dual LCD display on front and back, powered by 2 AA dry-cell or alkaline batteries, approximately 120 hours battery life on alkaline
LS-100D receiver specification Confirmed as a genuine Topcon accessory and a genuine bundle option for this laser. No independent Topcon specification document for the LS-100D was located, so its detection precision and working range are not stated here
Environmental and build
Dust and water resistance IP66 (IEC 60529:2001)
Operating temperature -20 to 50 degrees C (-4 to 122 degrees F)
Storage temperature -30 to 60 degrees C (-22 to 140 degrees F)
Dimensions 177 (L) x 196 (W) x 217 (H) mm, about 7.0 x 7.7 x 8.5 inches
Weight About 2.6 kg (5.7 lb) with dry batteries installed, about 2.8 kg (6.2 lb) with the BT-79Q rechargeable pack installed
Tripod mount 5/8 inch-11 thread, standard surveying-instrument fitting
Warranty
Instrument warranty Five years
What is included at this price
Confirmed by more than one independent source The laser unit itself, the receiver matching the option purchased (LS-80X or LS-100D), and a carrying case
Batteries and a charger Topcon's own brochure for this model lists batteries and a charger among the kit's components, and one independent dealer's own listed contents agrees, naming both as included. Topcon's own manufacturer page states that its products generally do not include alkaline batteries, due to interstate and international shipping constraints, and that the correct battery type and count should be purchased locally. A second independent dealer's own listed contents names neither batteries nor a charger. Not resolved
Laser Manager app Free download for iOS and Android, no license fee
Printed manual One independent dealer's own listed contents names a printed user manual; a second independent dealer's own listed contents does not mention one
Ordering
Variants covered by this listing Two options on the same listing: w/LS-80X Receiver (SKU 1051612-28) and w/LS-100D Receiver (SKU 1051612-29)
Shipping Shipped direct from the manufacturer
Topcon RL-HV1S Single Grade Laser