Topcon LS-B200 Machine Control Laser Receiver
W-9 and vendor pack with every quote
Shipped direct from the manufacturer
Topcon sells this receiver as two SKUs, an indicate-only LS-B200 and an automatic-mode LS-B200W, and picking the wrong one means an instrument that cannot run your in-cab control box.
01
Topcon sells this receiver as two SKUs, and only one of them runs automatic machine control
Topcon builds the LS-B200 family in two versions. The base LS-B200, part 1053268-03, runs indicate mode only: it shows the operator the grade and stops there. The LS-B200W, part 1063574-04, adds the ability to talk directly to Topcon's own in-cab control boxes. That is the hardware on a dozer or excavator that drives the blade automatically. Topcon's own catalog states the split plainly: automatic mode applications use the LS-B200W, indicate mode applications use the LS-B200. If your machine runs automatic control, the indicate-only LS-B200 is the wrong instrument, whatever else the spec sheet says. That single distinction, not the price, is the first question to answer.
02
The LS-B200W adds Bluetooth, RS-485, a wider capture window, and a mobile app; the LS-B200 has none of it
The base LS-B200 talks to nothing but its own power supply: its only interface is CAN, used for power alone. The LS-B200W adds RS-485, CAN, and Bluetooth, and pairs with Topcon's Laser Manager app on iOS or Android, which carries a one-time setup fee. The LS-B200W also reads a wider beam: its capture window, the strip on the receiver face that catches the laser, spans 250mm against the LS-B200's 175mm. Both variants share the same 360-degree detection angle and the same four selectable precision modes. Both also share the same 800-meter detection range, stated by Topcon as a diameter, not a radius.
03
The more capable SKU has the shorter battery life, 80 hours against 100
Topcon's own comparison table gives the base LS-B200 up to 100 hours on four alkaline batteries. The LS-B200W, with its added wireless hardware, runs up to 80 hours on the same batteries. The gap holds on the optional rechargeable pack too: 50 hours on the LS-B200, 40 on the LS-B200W. Neither variant ships with batteries in the box, per two independent dealers; Topcon does not publish a packing list either way. Choosing the LS-B200W for automatic mode means accepting a shorter runtime between changes, a real trade worth planning a shift around.
04
Detection range runs to 800 meters, a diameter figure, with four selectable precision modes
Both variants detect the beam from any direction across a full 360 degrees, out to an 800-meter (2,600-foot) diameter, identical on both SKUs. Precision is selectable in four modes. Mode 1 holds plus or minus 3mm, Mode 2 plus or minus 6mm, Mode 3 plus or minus 15mm, and Mode 4 plus or minus 30mm. On-grade matching tolerance runs 150mm on both. A wavelength range of 633 to 785 nanometers is not published by Topcon anywhere, not in its brochure, its catalog, or its own product pages. One independent dealer states the same figure; it is recorded here as unconfirmed by the manufacturer, not as a Topcon spec.
05
The rechargeable pack for this receiver is the BT83Q, and an older part number is still in circulation
Topcon's own channel parts list and its own product comparison page both name the BT83Q as the LS-B200 family's rechargeable pack, and they agree with each other. The BT-68Q is a legacy part built for the discontinued LS-B100 Series, a different receiver, and Topcon's parts list files it that way. One independent dealer still shows BT-68Q against this product in its own spec table while selling BT83Q as the correct battery on its own accessory page. If you are replacing a pack, call and confirm which one your unit takes before you order.
06
A built-in clamp mounts to dozers, excavators, backhoes, drag-boxes, and scrapers
The LS-B200 and LS-B200W both mount with a built-in mechanical clamp, no separate bracket needed for a standard fit. Topcon's own parts list adds two named accessories for dozer and excavator work, a magnetic mount bracket and a vibe pole. Both are grouped as current LS-B200-series parts, though the same list's own descriptions still tag them for the legacy LS-B100 Series. No Topcon material names a specific rotary laser this receiver is built to pair with. Pairing is a call to make with us before you buy, not an assumption from a spec sheet. Both variants carry an IP66 rating and run from -20 degrees C to 50 degrees C (-4 degrees F to 122 degrees F).
07 FOR UNIVERSITIES, COLLEGES AND GOVERNMENT AGENCIES
My Surveying Direct ships both SKUs direct from Topcon, and one call confirms which one your machine needs
Universities, colleges, and government agencies can order either SKU by purchase order, with W-9 and tax-exemption documentation on file. Both variants carry a one-year manufacturer warranty. Topcon's own materials do not state a packing list for the LS-B200 family. Two independent dealers describe a receiver, a hard carry case, a dry-cell battery holder, and a manual, batteries sold separately. Call us before you order, +1 888 850 6533, Monday to Friday, 9 to 5 Mountain Time. We will confirm which SKU matches your control box, what ships in your box, and the battery pack your unit takes.
Checkout above. Financing available with Affirm.
Institutions only: universities, colleges and government agencies.
Attached automatically.
Send the certificate once, we hold it on file.
On request, for committee approval.
One person, from quote to delivery.
REFERENCE
Specifications
The two SKUs, what separates them
| Mode | LS-B200 (SKU 1053268-03): indicate mode only, shows the operator the grade. LS-B200W (SKU 1063574-04): adds the ability to communicate directly to Topcon's own in-cab control boxes for automatic mode applications |
| Wireless interface | LS-B200: CAN, for power only, no wireless. LS-B200W: RS-485, CAN, and Bluetooth |
| Remote display | LS-B200: none. LS-B200W: works with Topcon's Laser Manager mobile app (iOS or Android), which requires a one-time setup fee |
| Beam capture window | LS-B200: 175mm. LS-B200W: 250mm, the wider window |
| Continuous operating time, alkaline batteries | LS-B200: up to 100 hours. LS-B200W: up to 80 hours, the shorter runtime that comes with the added wireless hardware |
| Continuous operating time, optional BT83Q rechargeable pack | LS-B200: up to 50 hours. LS-B200W: up to 40 hours |
| On-grade accuracy adjustment | LS-B200: adjustable on-grade accuracy. LS-B200W: one-touch on-grade matching, plus the ability to offset the on-grade position |
| Slope and plumb indicator | Included on the LS-B200W per Topcon's own brochure bullet. Not stated for the base LS-B200 anywhere checked |
| What stays identical between the two | 800m diameter detection range, 360-degree detection angle, the four detection precision modes (±3mm/±6mm/±15mm/±30mm), 150mm on-grade matching tolerance, IP66 rating, built-in mechanical clamp mount, size, and weight |
Detection and precision
| Detection angle | 360 degrees, both variants |
| Detection precision, four selectable modes | Mode 1 (Super Fine): ±3mm. Mode 2 (Fine): ±6mm. Mode 3 (Medium): ±15mm. Mode 4 (Coarse): ±30mm |
| Laser detection range, diameter | 800 m (2,600 ft), both variants |
| Beam capture window | LS-B200: 175mm. LS-B200W: 250mm |
| On-grade matching tolerance | 150mm, both variants |
| Detectable laser wavelength range | 633 to 785 nm. Not published by Topcon on any surface checked; this range is carried by one independent dealer and is recorded here as unconfirmed by the manufacturer |
Power
| Battery options | Four C-size alkaline batteries, an optional rechargeable battery pack, or an external power supply with DC voltage up to 30V |
| Batteries in the box | Not shipped in the box. Two independent dealers both state batteries are sold separately |
| Rechargeable battery pack part number | BT83Q, per Topcon's own current channel parts list and its own category page |
| Battery holder part number | DB-83, the dry-cell battery holder for the LS-B200/200W |
| Automatic shutoff | After 30 minutes of inactivity |
Mounting
| Mount type | Built-in mechanical clamp |
| Optional mounting accessories | A magnetic mount bracket and a vibe pole (for dozer mounting), both sold as named LS-B200-series accessories on Topcon's own channel parts list |
| Which machines it mounts to | Dozers, excavators, backhoes, drag-boxes and scrapers |
| Which rotary lasers it works with | Not stated by name on any Topcon source checked |
Build and environment
| Ingress protection | IP66, both variants |
| Operating temperature | -20 degrees C to 50 degrees C (-4 degrees F to 122 degrees F) |
| Dimensions | 158 x 166 x 357 mm (about 6.2 x 6.5 x 14.0 inches), both variants |
| Weight | 2.0 kg (about 4.4 lbs), both variants |
| Housing color | Yellow and red |
Warranty
| Manufacturer warranty | One year, both variants |